Hi from newest site Newby

Guest book, site news and suggestions, introductions
Zozzie

Hi from newest site Newby

Post by Zozzie »

Hi from me - Mike in Ontario Canada. My musical interest is slow mellow blues guitar (think Snowy White, Gilmour, Melvin Taylor, BB King, Freddy King etc). I'm a semi beginner, even though I'm in my late '60s and I mess around with the the minor pentatonic or blues scale in all 5 positions in all keys. I love spending an hour late at night playing along with slow blues backing tracks on You Tube in whatever key pops up.

Even though I'm not very good, I do my best and I'm trying to come up with "me" licks based on licks of others.

The people that leave me cold are the ones that have to cram in as many notes as possible - un-BB King style.

But that's me!

I see some great resources on this site already.

Zozzie
12bar
Site Admin

Re: Hi from newest site Newby

Post by 12bar »

:welcome: to our community!

Feel free to ask, post, upload, start a jam or whatever your like... :dance:
Zozzie

Post by Zozzie »

Thanks Admin! I'll just lurk and read for a while if that's ok. Hey do you know if the Dummies' Blues book is any good or not? I know the 5 positions of minor pent in all keys. A lick library is what I need.
VikingBlues

Post by VikingBlues »

:welcome: to the forum Mike ('Zozzie'). :D

I'm always happy to see someone sing the praises of slow blues - for years I've been trying to prove to myself that less is more. In my case less certainly more successful as the more notes there are the less feeling my attempts at playing seem to have. I get that same feeling when I listen to good players as well, so it's not just down to my lack of ability.

I liked your list of players - I'd happily spend time listening to them and enjoying the space they leave between the notes just as much as I enjoy the notes themselves. Think I would have some early Peter Green listening thrown in there too. :cool: