Strait Jacket

Upload and discuss your songs here. Open for Jazz and Rock, too!
Forum rules
Please do not upload songs protected by 3rd party copyright!
VikingBlues

Strait Jacket

Post by VikingBlues »

Mid way through a week of trying to catch up at work from a fortnights holiday and feeling totally stressed I found release in the guitar. I was NOT feeling relaxed at all when I started playing - I think the music just washed over me and soothed and healed the stress. :cool:

http://soundclick.com/share.cfm?id=10836906

Improv on E Aeolian Backing track ("Strait Dire") by David Wallimann from the JamPlay backing tracks collection.

Strat (I probably don't need to identify it as it's the most Strat sounding I've got yet) with middle/neck pup lead, plus Strat rhythm part. Through the Vox Tonelab LE (my Strat and Tonelab seem to get on very well). The backing track is supposed to be suitable for Knopfler inspired licks but to be honest I can't play like him, so this is me just playing as the mood took me. I think I've hooked in to the tempo and swing of the piece better than usual - though there's absolutely nothing new in my melodies. :roll:
An improv a day keeps the demons at bay!
tytlblues

Re: Strait Jacket

Post by tytlblues »

Nice track Viking. Very nice tone i might add. Nice relaxing melody line, and smooth playing.
In my humble opinion , the lead line could be mixed a bit louder against the backing track.
great job though.

tytlblues
Tytlblues

"Notes are expensive... spend them wisely”
BB King
Blindboy

Post by Blindboy »

Sounds good, VB. Excellent tone and sweet playing.
I can sympathize with stress levels after time off from work. I missed over a week due to the fire (uncompensated :wall: ), and had a hard time getting back into the swing of things. Music is a very good stress reliever.
"Throw yo' big leg over me Mama, I might not feel this good again!"
VikingBlues

Post by VikingBlues »