getting an acoustic

Talk about guitars, amplifiers, effects and other gear
kidtwist

getting an acoustic

Post by kidtwist »

Hey guys. I've been playing a strat for a few years (started playing a friend's squier but got my own fender a few years ago), and I decided it's time to get an acoustic. At first I was thinking about just having another guitar to play around with different tunings especially when messing around with slides, but the more I thought about it the more I realized it'd be nice to have to just play straight (actually I swing my eighth notes :big_smile: ). So this week I went to my guitar shop to see what they had for a used acoustic and found out they didn't have much used but they had a lot of new (a few used, not that the price or condition showed it) Taylors and Martins. Of course I sat down and played some of them and found out I forgot how nice an acoustic sounds (my strat sounds great through the blues junior but since I live in a college dorm I play unplugged a lot, plus acoustics just sound better anyway :D ).

So, my problem (sorry for the long story): Do I get a low end ($400-$700) Taylor? Or a Martin of similar price? (To achieve this price range both brands, especially the Martin, would be used, but they could pass for new) Or am I being stupid and should get something cheaper?

I'd rather spend a bit more and get a guitar I'll be happy with in 8 years than go cheap and want a new one in 8 months, but I'm not that good (though even to my poorly trained ear the acoustic fender I played in the shop sounded pretty bad especially compared to the taylors and martins) so I don't wanna waste money on guitars that I'll never be able to play up to the skill they deserve.

Thanks for the input!
Strummer07

Re: getting an acoustic

Post by Strummer07 »

Hi Kidtwist
always difficult to give advice on guitars , especially an Acoustic as its such a personal thing , both the feel of the guitar, its shape and looks.