Interference?

Everything that doesn't fit elsewhere
Post Reply
LeftyBlues
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 12:12 am

Interference?

Post by LeftyBlues » Wed Apr 07, 2010 5:32 am

While I was dialing in some new tones on my POD Farm, my guitar picked up some odd interference. When I dialed in my tone knobs to almost completely at 0, and messed the onscreen amp interface, I could pick up radio. Lucky for me, it was some nice Jazz and not Radio Disney XD. Just out of curiosity, I'm wondering if this has ever happened to anyone else.

User avatar
12bar
Site Admin
Posts: 2847
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2010 12:05 pm

Re: Interference?

Post by 12bar » Wed Apr 07, 2010 7:54 am

Nothing strange, the pickups can take up an AM (no FM) radio signal...

User avatar
wildwood
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 5:38 pm

Re: Interference?

Post by wildwood » Wed Apr 07, 2010 2:07 pm

I pick up police radio calls every now and then...
The blues won't get you to heaven but it'll drop you at the front door.

User avatar
Pena
Posts: 198
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 5:37 pm

Re: Interference?

Post by Pena » Wed Apr 07, 2010 2:31 pm

Wow, no wonder that sometimes I feel strumming like God :music2: , but bloody hell it comes from the radiowaves :big_smile:
"The blues is a low down achein' chill" Robert Johnson

LeftyBlues
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 12:12 am

Re: Interference?

Post by LeftyBlues » Thu Apr 08, 2010 12:06 am

I heard the radio station, it's a smooth jazz station my dad enjoys. I know for sure it is FM.

jimmypagezoso94
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 10:12 pm

Re: Interference?

Post by jimmypagezoso94 » Thu Apr 08, 2010 2:35 am

I know for me if i put my wah pedal in the right spot and kick it on it will pick up radio.

User avatar
12bar
Site Admin
Posts: 2847
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2010 12:05 pm

Re: Interference?

Post by 12bar » Thu Apr 08, 2010 8:02 am

Actually it's a bit more complicated, it's not only the guitar pickup. Every piece of metal (the guitar cable, too) can work as an antenna and collect the signal. You just need to demodulate it, which is pretty easy for amplitude modulation. The circuits in your amp may by chance work as a demodulator, so can pedals, effects etc.
I've never heard of receiving FM stations through an amp, because it's much harder to decompile. Maybe the station also has an AM sender. Maybe your circuits allow FM demodulation...
I'm sure HBL knows more about. I'm a Chemist... :whistle:

Post Reply