DIY Pick-up winding.

Talk about guitars, amplifiers, effects and other gear
ElMano

DIY Pick-up winding.

Post by ElMano »

After a period of collecting materials, reading about it, and watching You tube i stripped an old sawing machine to the bone and putting some parts together
And a hugh pile of bis and peaces left :lol:

The result so far

You can't bend the rule, Every man is some womans fool
12bar
Site Admin

Re: DIY Pick-up winding.

Post by 12bar »

You're a true craftsman! :thumbsup:
ElMano

Post by ElMano »

No i am a hobbyist whit to much time :mercy: :mercy: To day i struggle whit 2 things 1e the counter works on a magnet from a bicycle speed meter but the counter react to slow on the impulse When the speed is slow he counts the rounds, but when speeds up (and that's is needed for winding about 70000 rounds) the counters don't work. :yikes:

The 2e problem to solve is keeping the bobbin on place but that is quit simple to solve. The other things to do is fine tuning fore guiding the wire between the bobbin's and fix templates( steel ) for the bobbin's to made them so they will fit in standard guitar's
VikingBlues

Post by VikingBlues »

My brain hurts just trying to understand how you can do this! :eye_rub:

Hobbyist? ... maybe! But I'm continually amazed by what you can get from things that most people would probably throw away. :pray:
An improv a day keeps the demons at bay!
ElMano

Post by ElMano »

I solved the problems whit the counting :dance: After all the solution was simple, but i start building a switch that was open and closing like a camshaft. It works but when the speed was to high the counter stopped, and the noise was horrible (rattling) And then the EUREKA :think: :aha: moment was there. I connect 1 wire to the frame, and 1 on a strip that was permanent in contact whit the wheel.
3/4 of the wheel isolated whit duct tape and 1/4 stay blank.
Bit by bit is shorten the tape so the counter has enough time to give the signal an disconnect.